A change is as good as a rest

Posted: September 13, 2012 by Harry Moonbeam in getting in to the swing of it
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I don’t see why I had to rush back off holiday early. All a bit last-minute, what with having to run after the plane or miss it, what do they reach on the runway? About 200mph? Yes, I really had to go some, and carrying a case too! Only just made it.

Hello!? Who’s that waiting outside the shop? Looks like we got a customer.

Sorry to keep you, had a bit of a long commute, no I don’t always come to work in shorts. Or flip-flops. What are you talking about, funny shirt? This is tame compared to some of the luminous stuff you see paraded about on the high street these days – yes, I read about it on the plane, in Hard Egg News. What’s that? You don’t read it. Well, you should: it’s not a bad blog as it happens. Can you just move to one side so I can get the key in the door and unlock it – there, that’s it. Open for business. Now, what can I do for you?

Your name’s Zoe and you’ve got some questions…

Oh sorry Zoe, I’m not buying at the moment. Eh? you want to ask them not sell them. Well, you do know that a lot of people ask me a lot of questions all the time. I’ll see if I can help. Go on, then, fire away.

Name a book you would read over and over again?
Catch 22, it has obviously been a big influence.

If you could have 3 wishes granted, what would they be?
That my first two would be fulfilled after a bit of work so that I appreciate them and that my third never be granted so that I always have something to strive for.

Who was your favorite teacher and why?
I don’t really have a favourite. I do know that teachers aren’t only found at schools – I have met many wise and helpful people whilst wandering about the planet.

Where is your favorite vacation spot?
I try not to go back to the same place twice but I am a culture vulture and not a beach bum. Don’t get me wrong, beaches are alright, just not to lay on all day. I’ll be general: I love Scandanavia.

What chore do you absolutely hate doing?
Putting the duvet cover on. Somehow I end up buttoning myself inside the damn thing.

What is your favorite dessert?
Gulab Jamun: a rose-water and cardamon-infused doughnut type of dessert from the Indian sub-continent region
– if you’ve never had them you’re missing out and all the more for me.

What is your least favorite mode of transportation?
Roller skates, never could master them – ice skates fine.

When you were a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?
Astronaut.

If money was no object where would you live and why?
In a two bed house in the area I’m living now. It’s all I need and I’m happy here.

What is your dream career?
If only more people read and liked my stuff…

What movie do you flat-out refuse to watch, no matter how good people say it is?
My own bio-pic.

Is that it then?

It is. What’s this? It’s an award!?

I had no idea. Zoe, thank you for the nomination. I’m truly honoured. No, I really didn’t know this crowd was going to turn up, nor the crates of champagne. Oh look, canapes. Hang on, I think I might have an old speech somewhere in my pocket, yes, here it is.

I’d like to take this opportunity to thank Zoe and say that I think her blog:

just english

is very good.

Okay, you can put the spotlight back on me again, I need the heat, I’ve just come back from a hot country a bit sharpish – there’s quite a temperature difference. Now, where was I?

Apart from the usual friends and family, I’d also like to thank all the people who follow the shop, the infrequent customers and those who frequently press the ‘like’ button.
Lastly I’d like to nominate (in no particular order):

backpackology
hovercraftdoggy
I like your art
christophe gowans
tracy loves history
eatmorewords
Jason Shergold music collector
lp cover lover
i could be splendid
moevertures
neglected space

Please take a look at these sites – it was hard to make a final list as there are many good sites out there.

Site owners: thanks for entertaining me, I don’t know if you accept these awards but if you do these are…

Terms and conditions:

Please answer the questions below. Credit your nominator (with a link to their site). Nominate 11 people and use the same questions or write your own.

  1. Name a book you would read over and over again?
  2. If you could have 3 wishes granted, what would they be?
  3. Who was your favourite teacher and why?
  4. Where is your favourite vacation spot?
  5. What chore do you absolutely hate doing?
  6. What is your favourite dessert?
  7. What is your least favourite mode of transportation?
  8. When you were a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?
  9. If money was no object where would you live and why?
  10. What is your dream career?
  11. What movie do you flat-out refuse to watch, no matter how good people say it is?
mindstuff logo link

Avez-vous la guelles de bois?

S’pose I’ll have to get a cabinet made to put the awards in.

Comments
  1. W. R. Woolf says:

    Congratulations on the award🙂
    I’m with you on Catch 22. I only just finished it this summer, but, oh, it was wonderful🙂

    • Thank you.
      I’m planning a re-read of Catch 22 in the next couple of years, just have to find a suitable location. Italy could be good.
      Loved your photos of Iceland BTW. I always thought Blackburn, Lancashire was the place full of holes : )

  2. JustEnglish.me says:

    Oh, wow🙂
    You had me exposed as the nominator🙂 (thank you for the evaluation (my blog is good, yay))
    Well done and congratulations, Harry!

  3. Thank you for the nomination!

Leave a Reply

