THE SWEET SMELL

Posted: June 14, 2012 by Harry Moonbeam in Early days yet...
Tags: , , , , ,

Picture this in an anxious moody black & white:

The photographer was a bit late for ‘autumnal glade’.
You take what you can get these days.

An autumnal glade, dappled sun on warm skin, moisture on a leaf – dripping, the fresh scent of rotting wood – Gueles de bois.

“Avez-vous la Gueles de bois?”

That’s our latest ad: remember I was talking about smell being an aide memoire? Well, we’re launching a perfume, except this one’s got the memories already built in to it.

And how do you think that’s going to go down?
Like everything we touch here, it will turn to gold. Eventually.

How can you be so sure?
Because I’ve smelled success before, I know what it’s like, albeit briefly.

Go on then, what happened?
Well, I was just about to taste success when my Mum came and took the bottle away from me: “What are you doing with that? It’s not yours.”

My parents were a bit strict like that. And a bit tight as it happens, always keeping stuff for special occasions which mostly never happened. That bottle of success sat in a dusty cupboard for years. They left it to my brother, he’s a writer, does all these stories based on dreams.

Any good?
I don’t know, he’s still researching. So I borrowed the bottle back off him. The basic scent is what we based our perfume on, so it’s bound to be a success. Have a whiff.

Stale peanuts, disappointment, a hint of damp – have you smelled this?
I can’t be held responsible for what beloved memories that smell has triggered, in your own head be it. Besides perfumes make me sneeze.

But you said the perfume already has the memories built in to it.
Fair point. It’s whatever we can’t sell, you know: dribs and drabs, the stuff left over, the offal of the mind. In the butcher trade they’d make sausages with the left-overs, in our game we make perfume.

It smells like the butcher had a say in your scent too.
He had nothing to do with it, it’s all my idea, at least one of the ideas we had kicking around ‘aat back’.

And you do know that ‘gueles de bois’ means hangover in French,
that your ad is asking “do you have a hangover?”
Well that could be quite apt, I’ve just got another idea, let’s go to the pub and do some research.


Comments
  1. I enjoyed reading this!
    You obviously have a way with words and then playing with them! 😉

Leave a Reply

